• LP lim
    Includes 19% MwSt.
SKU: 018765 Release Date: Wed, 28 Jun 2023


Moses Brown of Texas punk bands Institute and Glue released his first cassette under the name Peace de Résistance – a solo project where he plays all the instruments – in October 2020. That cassette found Brown bouncing his growing songwriting chops off the fuzz-drenched Zamrock sound of Paul Ngozi, Witch, and Amanaz. However, Bits and Pieces – Peace de Résistance’s first full-length and first vinyl release – has a wider vista. Brown describes the sound as “demented glam rock,” and while you can hear remnants of the Zamrock influence in the sinuously melodic fuzz guitar, the more pertinent frames of reference are Diamond Dogs -era Bowie, 70s Lou Reed, and Iggy’s The Idiot and Lust for Life. Bits and Pieces recalls those records’ potent combination of artistic ambition, street-level rock and roll swagger, and pop charm, but filtered through the DIY punk aesthetics of Brown’s previous work. Lyrically, the album documents life on the fringes in a hyper-surveilled 2020s America, with songs like “Don’t 1099 Me,” “We Got the Right to Be Healthy,” and “Exploitation” wrenching plainspoken poetry from an existence that will be all too familiar to anyone at odds with capitalism. After nine timeless art-rock songs, Bits and Pieces lets us down gently with “Sitting in Disguise.” This motorik-inspired instrumental offers a rickety, dilapidated update of Neu!’s seamless futurism, implying that the only appropriate response to our predicament is to keep moving forward. -Sorry State


01. Boston Dynamics
02. Don't 1099 Me
03. Heard Your Voice
04. Hailu Mergia Cover
05. We Got The Right To Be Healthy
06. Exploitation
07. Manifest Destiny
08. Alphabet Au Pair
09. End Of The Night
10. Sitting In Disguise