JAY W. McGEESmooth Cruising

Label: Legere
  • LP
    Includes 19% MwSt.
SKU: 016812 Release Date: Tue, 09 Jun 2020


In 2015 US soul, boogie and disco legend Jay W. McGee teamed up with Hamburg producer, multi-talented musician and DJ Julian “Mzuzu” Romeike to record McGee’s comeback album “Good Feeling”. Even though both artists are from two totally different generations, they got on so well with each other after the official re-release of Jay W. McGee’s classic 12inch “Turn Me On” on Légère Recordings two years before that they started to write and record together. After all, it was Julian “Mzuzu” Romeike himself who made Jay W. McGee return to the music business after nearly 15 years of silence. The creative process did not stop with “Good Feeling”: “We now have a brilliant combination of fresh songs. Many different accurate beats and of course Jay’s incredible writing and singing skills,” says Romeike. “I feel that it’s a great combination of dedication, skills and talent which made this album possible. I work on some grooves and hooks for Jay, he picks the ones he likes and returns a proper song with vocals and arrangement. My production team, The Unbelievable Two, then work on the final mix.” “Smooth Crusing” hints towards McGee’s classic late seventies sought after sounds like “When We Party” with the first “Uptown, Downtown”. The album also includes some reggae touches and smooth soul excursions. “It is such a big pleasure to work with these guys as everything works perfectly together,” comments a happy Jay W. McGee. “It has all the ingredients for a classic album. It’s funky and soulful, recorded in a unique modern style. We have a tribute to the good old funky music with ‘Old School Love’. A lover’s rock orientated tune with ‘Chance I Have To Take’ and some kind of up to date Afro-Disco-Soul with ‘Bounce Back To Me’. And of course, ‘Smooth Cruising’ is full of funk!”


01. Uptown, Downtown
02. She Knows It
03. Old School Love
04. A Chance I Have To Take
05. Coming Home
06. DEH181917206 - Bounce Back To Me
07. Can't Hide
08. Smooth Cruising
09. This Moment