Genre: Postpunk
Label: Africantape
  • LP
    Includes 19% MwSt.
SKU: 013658 Release Date: Mon, 14 Oct 2013


The Martha’s Vineyard Ferries is a rock band featuring Elisha Wiesner (Kahoots) on guitar, Bob Weston (Shellac, Volcano Suns, Mission of Burma) on bass guitar, and Chris Brokaw (Come, Codeine, The New Year) on drums. Their new record, Mass. Grave will be released on October 14, 2013 on Africantape. The band – and more specifically, the band name – began as a kind of gag between friends. “Elisha and I were just hanging around talking about having a band and we were coming up with ridiculous names,” Weston said. “At first, I don’t think we really thought it would happen. But after awhile we were like, ‘Hey, should we really do this?’ Who would be the drummer?’ and Elisha immediately said, ‘Brokaw’.” What began as a hypothetical joke between friends, quickly resulted in some pretty incredible actual music in the form of their debut EP In The Pond (2010, Sick Room Records). As one might expect, you can hear elements of all the other bands Chris, Bob and Elisha are involved in, but ultimately, the Ferries’ music is truly its own thing. On Mass. Grave, the trio has developed its sound even further – though it’s a sound that might be a bit hard to describe. “I think I said something like Minor Threat crossed with ‘Eight Miles High’ by The Byrds,“ Wiesner said. “But of course we sound nothing like that. Our “sound” just happens to be what it sounds like when we all play together.”


01. Wrist full of holes
02. Parachute
03. She’s a fucking angel (From fucking Heaven)
04. Ramon and Sage
05.Blonde on Blood
06. Look Up
07. One White Swan