Genre: Electronic
Label: Mississippi
  • LP
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand
Artikelnummer: 018346 Veröffentlichung: Fri, 10 Dec 2021


Official reissue of the 1977 album of Clara Rockmore’s stunning theremin performances of various classical compositions, accompanied by her sister Nadia Reisenberg on piano. Includes gorgeous interpretations of pieces by Rachmaninoff, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky, Ravel and more. An all time classic classical album, finally back in print.

Rockmore was a violin child prodigy with training at the Imperial Conservatory in St. Petersberg. A refugee of the Russian Revolution, she arrived in New York with her family in 1921, and soon after met Professor Lev Sergeyevich Termen, inventor of the remarkable theremin, one of the first electronic instruments in existence.

Rockmore stunned crowds by playing music both highly technical and emotionally intense, all without ever touching her instrument. Her work represented the cutting edge of electronic music, inspiring a generation of innovators (including Bob Moog, who co-produced this record). On her custom built theremin, Rockmore channeled deep human emotion through an electronic device for the first time.


01. Rachmaninoff: Vocalise
02. Rachmaninoff: Son of Grusia
03. Saint-Saëns: The Swan
04. De Falla: Pantomime
05. Achron: Hebrew Melody
06. Wieniawski: Romance
07. Stravinsky: Berceuse
08. Stravinsky: Habanera
09. Tchaikovsky: Berceuse
10. Tchaikovsky: Valse Sentimentale
11. Tchaikovsky: Sérénade Mélancolique
12. Glazunov: Chant Du Ménestrel