MELLIEI have ideas, too

Label: Adagio 830
  • LP
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand
Artikelnummer: 019066 Release Date: Tue, 20 Dec 2022


Mellie’s first EP „Have Head“, released in spring 2020, was a small manifesto of brooding. While the urban zeitgeist wants to shake this off once and for all in order to just get things done and be even more productive, Mellie explicitly appreciates the permanent thinking-things-through. The whole thing comes with a melancholic, opaque sound which is shaped by sometimes discordant, often catchy guitar riffs and repetitive, almost paralyzing basslines. The trio‘s sound is anything but forced or exhausting, on the contrary: Mellie’s music is in many places subtle, in the very best sense of the word, sometimes even shy. Krautrock-like, repetitive passages bring a reduced version of early Stereolab to mind. „First Fridge“ calls up memories of Sonic Youth’s brighter and poppier songs.


01. Snail
02. Free Field
03. Trap
04. Flaw
05. I Have Ideas, Too
06. No, No, No
07. Void
08. Seance
09. Clowns