Genre: Postpunk
Label: Expert Work
  • LP
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand

Dieses Produkt ist gerade ausverkauft.

Keine Sorge! Gib einfach Deine E-Mail-Adresse ein und wir informieren Dich, sobald es wieder verfügbar ist.

Artikelnummer: 019557 Release Date: Fri, 08 Sep 2023


“Cougs,” the third full-length album by the band Cougars, showcases the group’s evolution while staying true to their primary sonic direction. This record picks up where the band left off with their previous recordings but also introduces some exciting innovations in their sound. One notable change in Cougars’ sound is the exclusion of keyboards and horn section. By stripping away these elements, Cougars created a more focused and stripped-down sound, allowing other aspects of their music to shine. This decision reflects the band’s growth and willingness to experiment with its established formula. The album also presents an upgraded approach to songwriting, composing, arranging, and producing music. Fans of Cougars, both old and new, will be delighted by the evolution in these areas. The band’s attention to detail is apparent throughout the album, enhancing the listener’s experience.

For those unfamiliar with Cougars, the band explores a variety of complementary music genres such as post-punk, post-hardcore, noise rock, and math-rock. However, it’s worth mentioning that the band incorporates elements from other genres as well. These additions serve as necessary enhancements, accentuations, and decorations that elevate Cougars’ music to an entirely new level. Despite the incorporation of various genres, the band remains loyal to its primary sonic directions, creating a cohesive and unique sound. One of the most striking aspects of “Cougs” is the cleverly assembled, complex patterns that form the basis of each song. Cougars expertly craft intricate chord progressions, riffs, melodies, and themes, which immediately capture the listeners’ attention. These catchy and often noisy elements create a captivating sonic landscape that engages the audience from start to finish. The basslines on this album deserve special recognition. They provide a sense of heaviness, depth, and clarity to the ambiance. These warm-sounding notes complement the complex patterns and serve as a solid foundation for the other sonic maneuvers at play. The drumming sequences on “Cougs” are nothing short of mind-blowing. Energetic, groovy, and well-accentuated beats, breaks, fills, and other percussive acrobatics drive the songs forward. The intricate drumming adds an extra layer of complexity to the music, demonstrating the band’s exceptional musicianship. The vocalist delivers a range of vocal styles, including articulate screams, shouts, and clean vocals. These vocal techniques and arrangements further accentuate the intricate orchestrations and guide listeners through the exceptional compositions with precision.

Cougars has once again delivered a standout album. With its cleverly assembled post-hardcore, post-punk, noise rock, and math-rock elements, the album is a treat for fans who appreciate flawlessly crafted music. The band’s exclusion of keyboards and horn section, their upgraded approach to songwriting, composing, arranging, and producing music demonstrate their growth and willingness to push boundaries. “Cougs” exemplifies Cougars’ continued dedication to their primary sonic direction while exploring new and exciting territories. It’s also good to mention that Expert Work Records did an incredible job by picking maroon/gold opaque galaxy and standard black vinyl for this release. These colors perfectly match the outstanding artwork that decorates the packaging. The jaw-dropping watercolor paint of the cougar on the front matches the Cougars’ abstract, intense, powerful sound, and gives an entirely new dimension to this release.


01. Dudes & Don'ts
02. Your Daily Tits
03. My Breath Is Great
04. In The Kissa
05. Stiff Wind
06. Rehandlered
07. Rehornedlered
08. America's Song