Label: Headland
  • LP
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand
Artikelnummer: 019262 Release Date: Thu, 23 Mar 2023


The HEADLAND soundtrack is a collection of 14 musical pieces composed and performed to accompany a collage of super8 footage shot around Lennox Head, NSW in the 1970s. The film gives us an on-the-rocks view of a particular way of surfing and some glimpses of a culture specific to that time and place. Not simply nostalgic, the music is sympathetic to the values and lived memories of small town surf-culture. Rather than describe, the compositions and performances reflect on anecdotal experiences and memories. The recordings act as documents to those reflections. It’s a mixture of hi and lo-fi recording sessions held variously at Skritch’s Borough (Brisbane), Nashuaville (Nashua) and at Uralba (near Ballina) with Steve Law. There are a range of musical touchstones evident including Pat Garrett & Billy the Kid, early JJ Cale, Meddle era Floyd and American Stars and Bars.


01. Pulled At 4 Pins
02. Scrimshaw
03. The Hum Song
04. Evermast
05. Neska Polita
06. Halftide
07. Sevenmile
08. Head-High
09. Seethrough
10. If You Want Me
11. Turtle Heads (Longing)
12. Swallowtail
13. The Weight Of Water
14. Clear Black Morning