HEADLANDTrue Flowers from this Painted World

Label: Headland
  • LP
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand
Artikelnummer: 019263 Veröffentlichung: Thu, 23 Mar 2023


HEADLAND began in 2013 as a soundtrack to a gorgeous collection of found super8 film fragments depicting surfing and coastal culture in and around Lennox Head, Australia in the 1970s. For this release, contemporary, High Definition slow-motion footage by award winning filmmaker Stephen Jones (El Mar Mi Alma) overscores each track of a full length LP. The film provides a discrete and personally emotive portrait of the Lennox coastline that builds upon traditional notions of landscape and seascape where each and every frame seems painted by hand. The instrumentation is lyrical, the compositions quaint and heartfelt. The combination is a personal insight into an emotional understanding of place. With an almost distinct Australian fever to its pitch, “True Flowers” ebbs and flows like the proverbial tide it is “soundtracking”, the players of this collective have a long history in the underground/mainstream music scene in Australia, and with this record have created a similar cinematic/avant garde-pop as created by the likes of Calexico, Friends of Dean Martinez, Boxhead Ensemble, Lullaby for the Working Class, and even Pink Floyd and Neil Young, so immersive and far-reaching is their sound. DVDs will accompany the first 300 LPs and 200 CDs of True Flowers from This Painted World. Band member bios: Les Dorahy A well-regarded visual artist, since 2006 Les has operated the Nashua Road recording studio and in recent times his creative interests have been directed towards the accordion, composition and audio engineering. Brock Fitzgerald A highly sought-after multi-instrumentalist, his CV includes recording artists such as The Scare, Wolf & Cub, Steve Smyth and Colourflux. Murray Paterson Artist, writer, curator and arts educator, Murray is probably best known as a musician/composer working with Tex Perkins and The Dark Horses. In 2009 he and Perkins also collaborated on a film score for Rachel Ward’s feature film Beautiful Kate. Joel Silbersher Singer/guitarist for seminal Australian rock band GOD (1986–1989) who had an enduring hit with My Pal, written by Silbersher. Joel went on to form Hoss and Tendrils (with Charlie Owen). As a solo artist he released Greasy Lens in 2002. Rebel Waltz Films (Stephen Jones and Tatiana Velasco) El Mar, Mi Alma (2012) ~ A visual love song to the surf blessed land of Chile, its people, and the ocean that defines it. Ghost of Neruda (in development) ~ A thrilling investigation into the alleged murder of the most widely read poet of the twentieth century – Pablo Neruda.


01. Head And Bottle
02. The Second Marriage
03. Remain On Stop
04. Beneath The Eyes
05. This Painted World
06. Your Mouth Well Hid
07. Uncommonly Cruel
08. I Couldn't Say It To Your Face
09. Song Of Three Children
10. Landfall Night
11. Lullaby For Pearl
12. Building Dwelling
13. Don't Get Cosy