• LP
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand
  • LPcol
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand

Dieses Produkt ist gerade ausverkauft.

Keine Sorge! Gib einfach Deine E-Mail-Adresse ein und wir informieren Dich, sobald es wieder verfügbar ist.

Artikelnummer: 018578 Release Date: Fri, 13 May 2022


Thirteen perfectly balanced, keyboard saturated songs 7lutter like 7lags threaded on a string: a collection of 7leeting thoughts stirred by the winds of Eighties pop. Riffs soar, the drum machine gallops and vocals are as carefully blended as a mango smoothie on a white-sky day. Modal Melodies is the duo made up of Violetta Del Conte-Race (Primo! / The Glass Picture) & Jake Robertson (Alien Nosejob, etc.)
The group stemmed from a loose chat at
Geelong’s Jerkfest in early 2021, where they
made plans to help each other complete some
un7inished demos. After emailing ideas back and
forth through lockdown, they were soon able to be in the same room together to structure their quickly blossoming songs. Vio added vocals from home and Jake mixed them into their sessions. Six to eight months after making their 7irst arrangements, Modal Melodies had matured into this debut record.
There’s something about a duo – something intimate and serious: it requires full trust and an act of balance. These are people who have listened to so much music they know how to make tunes in a way that seems intuitive. Karen Marks, Saada Bonaire and Lena Platonos have been mentioned as influences, but it seems like the biggest inspiration to cite came from each other. There’s an untamed instinct for melody, and layers like clouds, slowly rolling in. Drenched with colours and understated tension in parts, coupled with reckless joy, this album speaks to this moment.


01. Occupants
02. Niki
03. Driving
04. The Sun
05. Fourth Stage
06. The Horizon
07. Starting Point
08. Standing Still
09. In The Rain
10. Glass Harmonica
11. Clearer Path to Hutton Street
12. Disco Hotel
13. Changing Lights