V/ADon't Sleep / Usiende Ukalale

Genre: Africa
Label: Mississippi
  • LP
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand
Artikelnummer: 015998 Release Date: Wed, 28 Aug 2019


A compilation of uniquely Kenyan acoustic guitar songs, recorded in the homes and yards of Luhya musicians. In 2016, we set out to learn the origins of Omutibo, a playing style invented by George Mukabi and adapted by his neighbors in a region that proved to be truly fertile for guitarists. These are the songs and stories of a golden era Kenya on the brink of independence, beautifully resurrected by the songwriters themselves over 50 years later. LP comes packaged in a deluxe metallic spot-color jacket, with an 8-page full color booklet featuring interviews, photographs, and lyrics in English and Luhya. Co-released by Raw Music International and Olvido Records.


01. Jimmy Bongo - Lumumba Is Dead
02. Omari Machio - Usiende Ukalale (Don't Sleep)
03. Johnstone Ouko Mukabi - Nili Kwenda Safari (I Went For A Journey)
04. Zachariah Omufumbwa - Ndogo Ndogo (Small Ladies)
05. Fanuel Amimo - Ndeshela Omwana (Leave The Child With Me)
06. Jimmy Bongo - Mulochi (The Curser)
07. Fanuel Amimo - Dickson Omuranda
08. Johnstone Ouko Mukabi - Kwetu George (I, George)
09. Shem Tupe And Family - Adui (Enemy)
10. Zachariah Omufumbwa - Ndarula Ebutsetse (I Left Ebutsetse)