V/ANigeria Freedom Sounds

Genre: Afrobeat
Label: Soul Jazz
  • DoLP
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand

Dieses Produkt ist gerade ausverkauft.

Keine Sorge! Gib einfach Deine E-Mail-Adresse ein und wir informieren Dich, sobald es wieder verfügbar ist.

Artikelnummer: 018920 Veröffentlichung: Mon, 19 Sep 2022


Soul Jazz Records’ new Nigeria Freedom Sounds! features a stunning selection of material spotlighting the vibrant musical scene in Nigeria at the start of the 1960s. With a wealth of musical and cultural history and newly independent from Britain, Nigerian music during this era was complex, diverse and forward-thinking, with musicians as excited in exploring their country’s own musical lineage with styles such as Juju and Apala as they were in adapting and absorbing outside influences such as Ghanaian Highlife, Caribbean Calypsos and Mambo and more. This album features many of the defining artists of this time who helped shape the Nigerian musical scene. Artists include I.K. Dairo and his Blue Spots, Haruna Ishola and his Group, E.C. Arinze, Sammy Akpabot and His All Stars, Godwin Omobuwa and his Soundmakers, Ganiyu Kale and His Guinea Mambo Orchestra and many more. Few nations on earth are as diverse as Nigeria, and the wide assortment of Nigerian music styles collected on this album reflect the country’s rich variety of cultures. Western-influenced dance music, played on European instruments such as guitar, brass, and woodwind sits alongside traditional musical styles, made with indigenous instruments such as the talking drum, marimba, or obo. And there is also religious musical styles first brought to Nigeria by European Christians and Islamic traders from North Africa. And of course, there are points where these musical styles overlap, merging into one another to create unique new sounds.


01. I.K. Dairo and his Blue Spots – E Ma Mobun Saya
02. Chris Ajilo and his Cubanos – Ariwo
03. I.K. Dairo and his Blue Spots – Aye Wa Kael
04. Charles Iwegbue and his Archibogs – Baby I Tire
05. Haruna Ishola and his Group – Iba Awon Agba
06. E.C. Arinze – Chukwu Fulum Nanya
07. Victor Ola-Iya and his Cool Cats – Cool Cats Invitation
08. Ganiyu Kale and his Guinea Mambo Orchestra – Iyawo-Ile
09. E.C. Arinze – Freedom Highlife
10. I.K. Dairo and his Blue Spots – Bonfo
11. Haruna Ishola and his Group – Owo Ni Fari
12. Apolos Empire Rhythm Orchestra – Cut your Coat According To Your Size
13. E.C. Arinze – Lumumba Calypso
14. Sammy Akpabot and his All Stars – Save For A Rainy Day
15. Ishie Brothers – Onyeoma Rosa
16. Godwin Omobuwa and his Soundmakers – Look, Look, Look
17. E.C. Arinze – Saturday Night
18. J.O. Araba and his Rhythm Blues – Iyawo Ma Pa Mi
19. Godwin Omobuwa and his Soundmakers – You Cheat Me
20. E.C. Arinze – Ozo Emena
21. Tes Dandies Dance Band – Obo Mi Ebe Mi
22. J.O. Araba and his Rhythm Blues – Olowofuja Sawa
23. I.K. Dairo and his Blue Spots – Omo Alara