ZEAThe Swimming City

Label: Makkum
  • CD
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand
  • LP
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand
Artikelnummer: 019677 Veröffentlichung: Tue, 10 Oct 2023


The Swimming City is Zea’s fifth album, and the first one featuring guest artists. Immediately in the first song “Sub Specie Ludens” Mats Gustafsson appears on baritone sax and “People Shrink, People Grow” features Oscar Jan Hoogland on piano, who returns in “All Words Have Been Here First”, the song that also features the characteristic and recognisable clarinet playing of Xavier Charles who De Boer made a 7″ single with in 2012 called Bourgeois Blues.
Zea has toured all over the world and played in thirty five different countries including Ethiopia and Ghana. In Ghana Zea set up a studio with local musicians where two of the songs on The Swimming City were recorded: “Dark Minded Me” and “Ik Kin Der Net By”. This last song is sung in Frysian, De Boer’s first language, who grew up in a small town called Makkum, in Fryslan in the northern part of The Netherlands.


01. Sub Specie Ludens
02. People Shrink, People Grow
03. I Build My Own Town
04. 1, 2, 3, I Saw The Devil Cry
05. All Words Have Been Here First
06. De Zwemmende Stad
07. Bathroom Gardening
08. Dark Minded Me
09. It's Quiet
10. Exploding Head Syndrome
11. On Going Home
12. Ik Kin Der Net By