Genre: Garagepunk
Label: Erste Theke
  • LP
    Enthält 19% MwSt.
    zzgl. Versand
Artikelnummer: 019573 Release Date: Sun, 01 Oct 2023


ETT is honored to bring another mindblowing debut LP on your turntable. All the way from Naarm (Melbourne, Australia) we have a unique debut album. Jordan from Pinch Points, Miranda from Dr Sure’s Unusual Practice, Tom from Gonzo and Dragnet, Amada from Carpet Burn, Gutter Girls plus Chris and Erik from Hobsons Bay Coast Guard. What do you get when you put these people in one practice room? Yes – CHECKPOINT!
This is a no-filler record; every song feels as though it’s been crafted carefully, and explored fully. There is so much to explore here and every listen will make you piece this puzzle even better. It’s pretty damn catchy, and old spiky punks might find themselves nodding along as they grumble. Front to back, DRIFT is like shotgunning a Red Bull. It never slows down, it has some solid punk grit and the speed and style works in the album’s favor. Each track has just enough variation to keep you hungry and the song topics at times will have you questioning if the world will make it!

It’s always good to see this loose coalition of bands keep the spirit of 00’s garage punk alive and supercharged into the now. I won’t throw around the usual references, but this is the type of attitude that first turned my ear to this style and it’s just getting better. It’s exhilarating, and already leaves me breathless for the next release. It’s music you can’t help but enjoy. I think you are under the impression that this is an album by the amazing band Checkpoint. After purchasing the record and enjoying it, you will be pleasantly surprised to learn that you were correct and you would do it again.


01. Triple Dragon
02. Friends
03. Break
04. Ice Summit
05. 10th Dimension Advertisement Apocalypse
06. Teacher Part II
07. Circuit Breaker
08. My Girl
09. Phantom Mantis
10. Checkers