Genre: Afrobeat
Label: Everland
  • LP
    Includes 19% MwSt.
  • CD
    Includes 19% MwSt.
SKU: 015153 Release Date: Tue, 05 Jun 2018


Although for the longest time she has been a Chicago resident, Ruby Andrews’s wonderfully dramatic vocals sounds like straight from the deep south of the USA. Actually, that is where she was born in Hollandale, Mississippi, in 1947. She recorded at least six albums that are each highly treasured by soul and funk fans all over the world. Black Ruby, the brilliant second LP from this marvelous soulsinger first appeared on the Zodiac label in 1972. Just one minor nationally charted hit came off the LP. But as a whole it is even more revered than her hit-laden predecessor among soul aficionado’s. It’s considered an exemplary classic of a deep- and Chicago-soul album. The music has re-appeared some times in one form or another but the LP was never before fully reissued on high quality vinyl! Everland is thus very proud to re-present the Black Ruby album in closest to original format with that beautifully designed and shiny psychedelic album cover. A true Gem indeed.


01. (I Want To Be) Whatever It Takes To Please You
02. Overdose Of Love
03. The Love I Need
04. Didn't I Fool You?
05. You Made A Believer Out Of Me
06. Good 'N Plenty
07. You Ole Boo Boo You
08. Just Lovin' You
09. My Love Is Comin' Down
10. Hound Dog