KARMA SUTRABe cruel with your past and all who seek to keep you there

Genre: Punkrock
  • LP
    Includes 19% MwSt.
    Sold out

This product is currently sold out.

Don't worry! Enter your email and we'll notify you when it's available again.

SKU: 018464 Release Date: Thu, 13 Jan 2022


Karma Sutra were an anarcho pacifist band from Luton, Bedfordshire who formed in the early 80’s after the demise of the legendary the Phallic Symbols. Karma Sutra only had one release at the time – an album self released in 1987 called Daydreams of a Production Line Worker which came towards the end of their lifetime. Sealed Records now release the earlier years of demos and compilation tracks on a 15 track round up. Be Cruel with Your Past and all Who Seek to Keep you There includes their first and primitive demo The New Economy Roast from 1983. It’s very basic and has a Bullshit Detector Compilation quality to it. A few years later came the second demo Shoppers Paradise which is the best material Karma Sutra recorded. Six tracks of well produced classic 80’s Anarcho punk with a driving sound. It’s passionate, tuneful and politically aware. How this wasn’t released at the time on vinyl, is a travesty. Also included is two tracks from the Mortarhate Compilations Who? What? Why? When? Where? and We Don’t Want Your Fucking Law!. Finally the last three tracks were from the final line up of the band and were recorded with Spon from UK Decay adding more post punk elements to the sound.

The LP comes with a 40 page booklet of Lyrics, handouts, fanzine interviews and statements.


01. Wake Up The Red King
02. Intelligent Life
03. Fantasy Ball
04. Tally Ho!
05. Painting by Numbers
06. Cold Statements
07. It's Our World Too
08. How The Other Half Die
09. Food For Thought
10. It'll Never Happen Here
11. Another New Testament
12. So Why Fight?
13. Poll Tax
14. Token Slogans
15. Crisis? What Crisis?